Shopping Cart
Your Cart is Empty
Quantity:
Subtotal
Taxes
Shipping
Total
There was an error with PayPalClick here to try again
CelebrateThank you for your business!You should be receiving an order confirmation from Paypal shortly.Exit Shopping Cart

A House Without Windows / Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars BOOKS LIKE THIS MAKE ME WANT TO READ NOTHING BUT "INDIE" ALL THE TIME!, November 21, 2014

By

TruthBTold - See all my reviews

This review is from: A House Without Windows (Kindle Edition)

I must take a deep breath before I begin this review. I will share with you why, I must take this pause. Only a couple of days ago I finished reading another book (see below, 11/20/14) and it was awesome. Straight off the heels of that read, I pick this one up and I didn't put it down until I'd completed the ENTIRE read! This book, A HOUSE WITHOUT WINDOWS, has been on my TBR list for a very long time. Now, I have to honestly say, I hate it took me so long to get to it. Authors come to me for reviews because they KNOW that they will get only honest ones. That's evident, because every book you see sitting in my que, does not make it onto this page. Some don't even make it onto Amazon, as the review I might give, would hurt them so much more than me not posting a review at all. So, I don't know what you've heard before, but let me tell you the "truth" about A HOUSE WITHOUT WINDOWS.


When I began this read, the first thought that came to mind was the Ariel Castro kidnappings. As I watched that horrid story unfold back in early 2013, I felt the same tightening in my chest with every page turned in this book. It was unreal! Why? Because this story about a kidnapped young woman and her daughter who were held hostage for almost a decade, in a tiny room without any windows or sight of the outside world, was beautifully crafted and so well-told. While driving, I found myself "still" thinking about this book, wondering how a writer could tell such a tale, in the most marvelous of ways, without having experienced the actual pain. Readers have asked me the same question about my own novel, Daydream's Daughter, Nightmare's Friend, wondering if any of it were true. As my novel is all fiction, and if this one is all fiction, too, Stevie Turner is a writer for the ages! To be able to create a story of this magnitude, the author has to be extremely gifted and talented! This author is! Someone asked me to tell them what I found wrong with the book, if anything. Well, I did come across a couple of punctuation hiccups that were so small, I don't feel the need to share it while raving about this FAN-TABULOUS BOOK! And RAVING about it, is what I plan to do for a very long time! RRBC members often email me and ask "Nonnie, what's a good book to read?" I always respond with "Any that are sitting on NONNIE'S "RAVE" REVIEWS page." Isn't that where this one is sitting? Well, I guess you better go get the book so you can RAVE about it yourself! Books like this make me want to read nothing but INDIE books all the time! Kudos to the author!

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Empathetic and heartfelt, recommended most highly, 2 Dec 2014

By

Bang2write

*****

This review is from: A House Without Windows (Kindle Edition)

Topical given the high profile cases of women kidnapped and kept in homestead dungeons in recent years (and sometimes even forced to raise families with their tormentors), A HOUSE WITHOUT WINDOWS is an empathetic and heartfelt character study. It would have been easy to stay *just* within the "present" and make this a Hollywoodised "race against time"-type plot, but Turner avoids this expected route with panache. Instead, told via first and third person accounts, via diary entries, letters and emails, A HOUSE WITHOUT WINDOWS is to me first and foremost a love story: one in which the characters are faced with unimaginable horrors, yet faith in themselves and in one another gets them through. Even better, none of these horrors are salacious or nasty, but matter of fact, keeping them realistic and not sensational. Even antagonist Edwin's motivations are understandable, if not condoned and an impressive resolution reminds us that even people whose actions are simply vile, are still people. I read this book all in one go and recommend it most highly.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A House Without Windows by Stevie Turner March 29, 2014

By bookangels4387

  • Print Length: 222 pages
  • Publisher: Stevie Turner; 2nd edition (February 20, 2014)
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00HUH6R7Q

Read and reviewed by Evil Witch

How would you like to be a happy engaged woman one moment and a prisoner of someone the next? Would you like to be a young pregnant doctor who hasn’t even told her fiancee that she is pregnant, suddenly prisoner in a basement with no windows? I know I wouldn’t.

However, if you like mystery this book is for you. Imagine having to give birth in a basement with no one to help you. Imagine having to protect your child from your captor and to do this you had to do unimaginable things.

There is no way to tell you all that happens in this story without giving too much away. I can only say READ THIS NOW. YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED .

6 out of 5 stars

A+

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

5.0 out of 5 stars Complexity Crafted Beautifully 4 April 2014

By No Labels

Format:Kindle Edition

The color scheme of the book cover was done wonderfully. The light bulb was a symbol of the torment Beth and Amy went through and the blend of the illumination and the shade of green gave it a creepy ambiance. Simple yet very effective.


This book could have easily been divided into a series based on the varying conflicts in the book and the character dynamics. However, the author opted to divide this into different parts. For me, the different parts told by different characters in the story really helped me to connect with them and explore each one's dichotomy.


My favorite character was youthful Amy. She was smart, candid, and very brave. Quite a few moments I was in tears and cheered for her to have a wonderful outcome. My feelings for Liam and Joss were conflicted but their flaws made them highly realistic. I love this author's flair for giving her characters complexity and her ability to have your emotions ride a variety of waves: encouragement, anger, despair--the whole gambit!


The author also took her time with describing various locations. I felt like I was learning geography and going on a vacation at the same time. The balance between dialogue, conflict, humor, and narrative was sharp and did not miss a beat. Pace never became sluggish during times of back story and that can be tricky with a work that deals with so much emotional, physical, and psychological topics.


I first started reading Stevie's work with The Porn Detective and continued on with The Pilates Class. Stevie has continued to impress. Just when you think she is at her peak, a "you haven't seen anything yet" moment arises.


This is what A House Without Windows is for me. It has solidified this author as a permanent mainstay in my collection--both electronically and hopefully at some point, in paper form.


I highly recommend this fine work.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Review by: Arlena Dean on July 10, 2014 :

Title: A House Without Windows

Author: Stevie Turner

Publisher: S.T.

Reviewed By: Arlena Dean

Rating: 4

Review:


What I got from the read....


Wow, this was really some read that this author presented involving some many characters with such


a story that in the end was well blended together giving the reader a well written read. It is my understanding that there was a real story taken from events that had happened in Lambeth London dealing with three women that had been held captive for thirty some years. This author in his novel "A House Without Windows" really did some research to give the readers a inside version of what happened to Dr. Beth Nichols, her daughter and son, Joss, her former boyfriend Liam and Edwin Evans. Be prepared for a read that is full of complexed emotions, physical and psychological issues as this author details a little of it all. "A House Without Windows" will be hard to put down once you start reading it because it will keep your attention from the start to the finish. I don't want to give any of this story away other than to say pick up this good read to see how this author brings this story line all out. Believe me, it will be some read. If you a in for a good drama, thriller, and mystery then I would recommend this novel to you.

(reviewed within a month of purchase)     

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Excellent Read May 5, 2014

By KatieB

Format:Kindle Edition

This was the first book I've read by this author and I can't wait to read others. Fast read. Couldn't put it down. Made me think about the horror those three girls in Ohio must have endured.   

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 Cleverly written study of a complex issue 31 Mar 2014

By Chris Harrison

Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase

Stevie Turner follows up The Porn Detective and The Pilates Class with a study of lives affected by abduction. When Dr Beth Nichols is released from a basement after ten years of captivity she and her children are not the only ones forced to reassess 'life on the outside' as they adjust to freedom.


The story is told from the point of view of a number of characters, but rather than create a tangled plot of interweaving stories Stevie Turner breaks the book up into a separate section for each character, allowing the various personal experiences to be told in a concise and direct way. Lives and characters cross and intermingle, with the climax of the story bringing together every strand and storyline.


Based on the events surrounding a real life case in Lambeth, London, in which three women were held captive for thirty years, A House Without Windows presents some harrowing details early on when Beth and her daughter Amy are still imprisoned. The novel allows time to explore the various emotional reactions, from Beth's former boyfriend Liam, to her son Joss, and even those of the original captor Edwin Evans.


The subject matter is a potential minefield if handled badly, but A House Without Windows avoids cliche and melodrama to deliver a story of devotion overcoming obsession.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Terrific, 27 Sep 2014

*****

By

Erania Pinnera

Verified Purchase(What is this?)

This review is from: A House Without Windows (Kindle Edition)

As a crime writer myself, I found this novel absolutely terrific. It has everything a crime lover would want from a mystery story: a strong main character, twist and turns and detective elements.


I'm not surprised that it's been awarded by Readers Favorite.


5 well deserved stars. Do check it out folks.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Wonderful and thought-provoking, 21 Sep 2014

*****

By

Avid reader

This review is from: A House Without Windows (Kindle Edition)

I was given a free copy of this book for an honest review and I must admit I felt privileged to read this novel.

House Without Windows is a very original work, based on real cases of abduction, I suppose. Told from multiple points of view - from Beth herself, through her children to even the abductor himself - this novel made an amazingly rich read that was very difficult to put down. The characters were complex, imperfect, realistic. The scenery - wonderfully real. The psychological issues it faced were brave, with no cliches or unnecessary melodrama. Highly recommended.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

One of the best, 30 Sep 2014

*****

By

Bill Swanson

This review is from: A House Without Windows (Kindle Edition)

Excellently written story that has you gripped from the first chapter. Brilliant. One you can't put down.


I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Mundane Made Significant April 4th 2015

*****

By

Michael James Gallagher


Stevie Turner's writing sparkles in A House Without Windows. The author succeeds at smothering the shocking story of years-long kidnap in prose that takes the reader gently into the maelstrom of mental illness and leads the reader to the reality of a bright young woman's nightmare experience. Ordinarily this type of story would frighten me, but Turner deadens the shock with the mundane. Often seen through the eyes of a child born in the cellar prison, who knows no other experience and must live life vicariously through descriptions in a single book, the strength of the kidnapped woman takes center stage not the sordidness of her years-long ordeal.

Masterfully written with an unexpectedly positive tone, especially considering the scenario presented, the author adds cultural nuance using right-on-the-mark language and expressions in the mouths of children on both sides of the 'big pond'. Having lived in both the UK and Canada, this reader can attest to the author's careful attention to detail. The 'Beaches' in Toronto feels and looks as real as the train station in Croydon. Remarkable tension builds in the ordinary if being imprisoned in a cellar could be by any stretch of the imagination considered mundane. Suspense, carefully stitched into the plausible reactions of a son wanting to meet his estranged father despite the fact that the older man is suffering from delusions in a mental institution, carries the reader forward with trepidation to an unexpected ending.


A House Without Windows goes one layer deeper though. Not only a human drama, the story displays the underside of a penal system infatuated by its own good intentions. Despite frightening his parole 'cum' social worker with empty cold eyes above smiling lips, the kidnapper wheedles his way back on the street again and bides his time to strike again. Remarkably, this social realism doesn't bog down a beautifully crafted story, instead the reader is left to judge or not on his own. In the same way that English character triumphed over Hitler, Stevie Turner enlivens and celebrates the strength of the human spirit particularly in the person of the protagonist but all of her people ring true.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Spellbinding! May 14th 2015

*****

By

Shirley Harris Slaughter


At first I didn't know what to expect with the title but the way Stevie Turner writes allowed me to ease into the horror gently. I felt as if I had woke up into a dark room without knowing where I was. The writer brought me right into the story and I felt like it was me being imprisoned. A good writer can make you feel like you are in the story. I was held hostage all the way through. And so I was happy to learn that everything turned out for the best while getting into the mind of a mad man. Stevie you did a superb job with this one. I'm sorry it took me so long to get to it. Fantastic Job!

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Jesper's review

Jul 11, 15


5 of 5 stars

Read in July, 2015


A fantastic read, and well worth picking up.


It's not super long, but the events - especially early on - take quite a while to get through, because you can spend hours reflecting on each page, simply because the situation is so mindboggling. Especially the girl Amy's perspective is truly a story of Plato's thought-experiment with the men in the cave. It just makes your mind reel when you start thinking about her perception of reality and the world itself.


Quite happy that I stumbled across this gem, I must say.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A must read!, August 11, 2015

5 of 5 stars

By

sarah maisano

Verified Purchase(What's this?)

This review is from: A House Without Windows (Paperback)

It was hard to put down!! I usually like to casually read my books throughout the day- a chapter here, a couple of pages there. I finished this in less than 24 hours. I couldn't put it down! Good story, full of heartache and happiness, and well written. I will definitely have to read another Stevie Turner book in the future!

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Great read!, 12 Aug. 2015

5 of 5 stars

By

Bill

Verified Purchase(What is this?)

This review is from: A House Without Windows (Kindle Edition)

The first half of this book when Beth is kidnapped and help prisoner for 8 years is very cleverly written and the inclusion of the references to Enid Blyton's writing was very imaginative. Once I started reading I couldn't put the book down and you really feel the emotions of Beth and her daughter, held prisoner in a small room with no help of escape. I loved the descriptions of Beth's daily life and how she tried to educate and bring up a child in impossible circumstances.

The second half of the book jumps to the future and to avoid spoilers I will just say it is a great read. The characters, especially the evil kidnapper are very vivid and realistic.

All in all, a well written and suspenseful story that grips you from the first few pages.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Review by Teodora Totorean for Readers' Favorite (Gold award winner)

5 of 5 stars

I enjoyed reading A House without Windows from different perspectives as Turner captures perfectly the inner thoughts and feelings of the characters. Amy’s perspective is heart breaking as the captivity is the only reality that she knew at her age. The book keeps readers interested throughout and, as the perspectives change, you want to know more about each character and how the story will come together in the end. The book has all the ingredients of a good read: positive characters, a villain, suspense, authentic dialogues and a narrative style that keeps readers interested to the very end.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Ellie's review

Oct 23, 2015


5 of 5 stars

Read from October 20 to 23, 2015


Read this book in three days! Could not put it down!

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

D.G Kaye's review on 11/2/2018


https://dgkayewriter.com/sunday-book-review-house-windows-stevie-turner/#comment-35743


My 5 Star Review:

This book has an unusual storyline with each chapter taking us into the minds and real life thoughts of each character, I could liken this story to the book/movie – Room, but the story isn’t only about ‘the room’ Beth is held captive in, but life after she is freed and the perspectives of every day life after being a victim.

A House Without Windows is the story of Beth Nichols whose compassion as a doctor leads to a scary nightmare in real life when Edwin Evans forms a ploy to kidnap her and keep her locked up all for himself. The story begins as a psychological thriller where Beth’s captivity in a tiny room with no windows becomes her life and the only home she will know for almost ten years,

Turner does a great job of giving us readers a ringside seat into what life is like for Beth, leaving us feeling uncomfortable, anxious, taking us in, almost as though we were that hostage, and wondering how on earth she will ever get out of her hell. Beth is a strong-willed and an intelligent woman, which has much to do with how she manages to stay sane while enduring solitude and the daily abuse, all the while remembering her love for her dear fiancee Liam.

I don’t want to reveal spoilers so it’s better I don’t talk about what happens in the second half of the book. Suffice it to say, I will plant some questions here that came to my mind as I read this captivating book:

Beth: How does one continue on back in the real world when it comes to love and sex and trust?

Beth: How does a mother keep love in her heart for a child who was born from rape?

Amy: How does a child born in captivity adapt to the real world after young childhood years in 4 walls?

Liam: Does true love ever die no matter the circumstance even after moving on and accepting the love of your life is dead?

Joss: Does being born of the spawn of a psychotic maniac carry through the genes?

These are just a few questions that came to mind and will no doubt come to any reader’s mind as they read this book, and as you continue to read those answers will be revealed. Turner has done a fantastic job of fleshing out characters, settings and mood. I would highly #recommend this book!

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

From Fran Lewis at MJ Magazine on 19th March 2018:

https://www.amazon.com/review/R1PYUTJBLQELGA/


Imagine yourself in a huge box with all four sides covered in dark paper and living within this box with no sunlight, air, window or anyway to get out. Now, imagine what would happen if this box or rooms like it become your reality. Dr. Beth Nichols left work and never see the man who was watching her until she woke up in a dark cellar with no way out. Edwin Evans is mentally disturbed and considered that Beth belonged to him and for the next ten years as author Stevie Turner describes and relates she would live a nightmare that she hoped someday to be rescued from. Within the room was a small bed, a light bulb that did not illuminate the room and very few comforts of any kind. But, food was brought to her on a regular basis in return he felt she belonged to him. Beth learned to deal with this man but when she realizes she was pregnant she flashes back to her life before and the man she was supposed to marry and whose life would forever change. Liam and Beth were engaged to be married when this lunatic kidnapped her. Learning she was pregnant she had to pretend the child belonged to Edwin and when Amy was born, Beth had to literally deliver her alone without any medical help. How did she even survive? How did she not think about ending her life? But, Amy became her only life and Beth her daughter’s only link to anything tolerable or real in the world. Edwin brought her books when she was ready to learn to read and one specific one would guide her through the years and help her understand the world outside.


Each chapter is told from the point of view of Beth, Amy, Liam, Joss and Edwin as we get to know their innermost feelings, their emotional upheavals and their hopes. For ten years Liam thought she was dead and although he searched for her for many, he eventually moved. Beth lives with Amy in this small cellar without windows and her prime concern is her daughter. Amy delivers vivid and heartfelt commentaries of her feelings towards Edwin, forced to call him Daddy and knowing he’s not her real father, living a lie you might say in order to protect herself and her mother. In every aspect of their captivity this man controlled all of their moves, needs and wants. Yet, through it all Amy’s hope to someday be free never waned as she read her book and relived the adventures of the characters each and every day. Miracles do happen in an odd way when she gets pregnant with Edwin’s child and see her impending birth as her link to freedom. Having to give birth in this small room without care from a medical professional would have jeopardized the life of her son. Realizing that she needed a C-section was her savior. Convincing Edwin to take her to the hospital took create patience, convincing and hope that he would agree. But, Beth was smart and managed to deliver a message when arriving at the hospital that she hoped would finally grand her and Amy their freedom but Amy was left behind and threats were made if she dared to voice her thoughts and the truth to the doctors but Beth was fearless. Having a kind heart towards Amy and caring for Beth, knowing this child was his; he drove her to the hospital. Beth writes how hard it is for her to deal with the outside world as Amy is rescued, never seeing snow is in awe and realizes that socks have been her only footwear never knowing what shoes or boots are or even having heard of them. Imagine breathing fresh and crisp cold air for the first time. You can hear her voice, listen to her fears and understand how she felt about being released and seeing her mother in the hospital and knowing that her new brother brought her the freedom they so deserved. Beth now sees her parents for the first time and the reunion is heartfelt and she wonders what the world will have in store for her as we get to know Beth in a different light. Fear is her only avenue. Staying inside and not wanting to leave her new home and yet Amy at first had a hard time but eventually she went to school and enjoyed her experiences there. Friends were not mentioned but bonding with Joss, her young brother helped both Beth and Amy in many ways. Ten years is a long time and people change as Liam realizes after communicating with the news in order to find out more about Beth and how to contact her. Her mother and father were the main connections and seeing her for the first time brought back a flood of good memories for both of them. But, when Liam told his wife Patty about Beth, the situation became highly volatile and things and family dynamics would change. Toby his son wanted his father yet Patty wanted him out of their lives. No matter how much he said he would do for her it was not enough. Knowing he was talking to Amy was one thing but realizing Beth was in the picture was another.


Beth had to learn to deal with life, go outside and hopefully restore her faith in herself, life and her love of Liam. The author shares in emails their inner most thoughts and feelings that when readers read them you will understand the definition of true and unrequited love.


Told in many different voices some in first and others in third person narratives you get to know each character in depth. Amy focuses on her surroundings, the books that Edwin gives her, the way she needs to react to him and how it feels not having anyone but one person in your life for so long. Beth’s strategy for getting free was creative and Liam’s torment and conflict within himself comes through as he realizes that Patty is no longer what he wants in his life and that Toby would be his only connection. Joss is Edwin’s son and he goes through many character changes from hostile at times, to doing things that cause his parents, Liam and Beth to ground him and suspect that he’s been doing things that he should not. A science project or research project would change it all. It’s in the eyes. When Joss learns about Edwin he steals money in hopes of getting a train pass to visit him in the mental institution. Getting caught creates family conflict when he steals the money to pay the gardener and his perspective on life and his reactions to his parent’s changes. He becomes angry, hostile and then he meets Edwin and learns the harsh realities about this unstable man. As you get to know the characters as they age, connections change and Toby, whose in a band that is quite popular becomes part of their lives, you hear Joss’s resentment for not only him but Amy. Things get tougher for him as he comes to terms with his real father’s attributes and things in school take on a wrong turn until he realizes some truths about himself.

When you meet them later on and Amy is engaged to Paul both doctors, Liam has moved to where Beth feels safe and comfortable, and Joss needs to deal with his own torments and issues, something happens and Edwin is released and what happens next will once again terrify Beth and her family. Will Edwin get to Beth? What happens when he breaks into their house and they are once again confronted with him? What happens when it all floods back and Beth and Amy both see one thing they never want to remember ever again The House without Windows?


Heartbreaking at times, realistic, characters that are individuals, loyal to each other and one doctor named Beth whose strength, courage and hope never failed. Author Stevie Turner’s book reminds us of the definitions of loyalties, hope, survival, understanding, courage and never giving up. What will Joss’s fate be? Will he realize he’s part of the family? It’s not just in the eyes or your genetics that makes you part of a family.

Fran Lewis: Just reviews/MJ magazine

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

5.0 out of 5 starsExciting read.

11 February 2019

Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase by Jacanie.

This book was so good I couldn’t put it down.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

5.0 out of 5 starsFantastic plot, twists and turns on every page

6 February 2019

Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase by Steve Oldfield

Was a bit unsure at first, was this just going to be a book about a woman being held prisoner? How wrong could I have been?

The plot builds, the characters unfold and develop throughout. The ending was amazing.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

cincyboymom72

5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, quick read you won't want to miss!

Reviewed in the United States on October 20, 2020

I gave this heartbreaking story 5 stars because I couldn't stop reading until the end. A newly pregnant young doctor is abducted by an obsessed patient and kept in a single 8x10 room in his cellar for almost a decade. She is forced to raise her daughter in captivity until a life-threatening complication arises during the birth of her kidnapper's child and she is able to tell the truth of her horrific ordeal and try to get her life back. One of my new favorite books!! ♥️

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

4.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable read

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 26 October 2020

Verified Purchase

Hitting that era of life where menopause may become more of a reality than one of those things that might happen in the distant future, I began to read this book with a little more curiosity than usual.

Lyn is in the throes of the beginning of menopause. She's all hot flushes and had a No Entry sign firmly placed 'down there', much to the frustration of her husband, Neil.

Things come to a head when she discovers he's found ways to lubricate himself, without her assistance.

Armed with the keys to what was their holiday home, Lyn ups sticks and moves to Cornwall, to start up her new life.

She signs up to a matchmaking site, with 'companionship only - NO SEX' firmly ticked on her profile and proceeds to meet some characters, some of which become longstanding friends, and some, she'd rather not see again.

An easy to read book, and I really liked some of the characters, especially gentleman Peter and transexual, Jamie!

But, though the ending was very 'happily ever after', part of me wanted her to make a different choice.

Still, an enjoyable read.

0