Shopping Cart
Your Cart is Empty
Quantity:
Subtotal
Taxes
Shipping
Total
There was an error with PayPalClick here to try again
CelebrateThank you for your business!You should be receiving an order confirmation from Paypal shortly.Exit Shopping Cart

Reviews of 'A Rather Unusual Romance'

A wonderful romantic and engaging novel, 16 Nov 2014

By

Books & More

This review is from: A Rather Unusual Romance (Kindle Edition)

4.5 Stars

A wonderful romantic and engaging novel, Stevie Turner has created A Rather Unusual Masterpiece in this romantic humorous novel that is both realistic and deeply moving. Don't expect rainbows and butterflies, as we're dealing with some tough subject matter - cancer, but that doesn't take away from the beautifully written words that Stevie had created in this novel. A great read for adults.


-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Wonderful!, 15 Nov 2014

By

Josie West

5 stars


This review is from: A Rather Unusual Romance (Kindle Edition)

This excellent story is partially based on actual events. I enjoyed it immensely. Divorced and with two teenage sons, Erin's comfortable world falls apart. Not to give any spoilers here.... but it's quite heartwarming with some humor, and I couldn't stop reading until I finished. I give high marks to Stevie Turner for a wonderful inspiring story. I've read her other books and loved them as well. This will not disappoint and it's a must-read.


-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Great Read!!!, 16 Nov 2014

By

Lilian Roberts

5 stars

This review is from: A Rather Unusual Romance (Kindle Edition)

"A RATHER UNUSUAL ROMANCE" is a very emotional story that will touch everyone's heart. The main character Erin Mason a divorced single mother now to her two teenage boys, has been diagnosed with cancer and has to face the horrible ordeal and make some sound decisions. Every one has been faced with this terrible illness in one way or another so it will touch each person's feelings. It is a wonderful book that I would highly recommend.


-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Fresh and unique romance!, 17 Nov 2014

By

Warrior Princess


5 stars

This review is from: A Rather Unusual Romance (Kindle Edition)

What a breath of fresh air! Finally, a romance that is not centered on healthy teenagers or twenty-somethings. This story is emotional, realistic (and partially real!), and well-written. The circumstances of the characters are difficult, and many people would fall apart in their circumstances. But they (and the author!) handle life's troubles with humor, grace, and love. Recommended!


-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Nice, December 8, 2014

By

5 stars

Dorothy May Mercer

Verified Purchase(What's this?)

This review is from: A Rather Unusual Romance (Kindle Edition)

Yes, indeed, the circumstance of their meeting was an very unusual. The romance that follows is quite nice and satisfyingly normal actually. Either Stevie Turner has done a lot of research or is writing from experience. I enjoyed the story and received an education at the same time.


-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


This great 4 star review by Marsha Ingrao on 31/8/2017 can be found on the following link:


https://marshajustwrites.com/book-review-rather-unusual-romance/#comment-2031


-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


This 5 star review from 18/12/18 by Lynn Hallbrook can be found on Goodreads:


https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/22713323-no-sex-please-i-m-menopausal


To me, this is one of those books that keeps you wanting to know more until you reach the very end. Fair warning, don't start at bedtime you won't be able to sleep until you're done.


Parental notice: This book is primarily aimed at middle-aged members of society and has adult language and somewhat explicit sex terms not vulgar but not appropriate for those of younger years.


Lyn is undergoing "the change" and her personal life has hit some rough patches as a result.


Being a woman of a certain age, I could definitely resonate with Lyn and what was happening in her life.


Disclaimer: I was provided this book in exchange for my honest opinion. I voluntarily read this book and the above are my freely provided thoughts.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

This 5 star review from Robbie Cheadle on 18th September 2020 on Amazon:

5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent and well written book

Reviewed in the United States on September 18, 2020

I listened to the audio book of A Rather unusual Romance narrated by Wendy Anne Darling. Right up front I must say that I really enjoy Wendy Darling's reading style which is perfectly suited to this particular book. I listen to enough audio books to know that the reader's voice and style can ruin a book, but Wendy Darling's narration really added to my enjoyment of this excellent story.


Erin Mason has a busy but ordinary life. She is a ward clerk in a busy hospital ward that specialises in care of the elderly and, right up front, she proves herself to be patient, firm and kind as she deals with the patients and her work colleagues. Erin is a single mother to her twin teenage boys after their father, her husband at the time, leaves her for another woman with whom he's been having an affair.


The relationship between Erin and her boys clearly indicates the type of person she is as they are caring and reasonably considerate towards their mother all the way through the book. It was heart warming to know that her children, Kevin in particular, were capable of expressing their love through looking after Erin and preparing meals for her when she became ill.


I quickly came to be ambivalent towards Erin's ex-husband, Chris, who not only had an affair and treated her quite badly when their marriage broke up, but behaves selfishly and self centredly when he becomes aware of her involvement with Alan.


Alan is a kindly and decent man who has also been through a divorce following his wife leaving him for another man. He is left to bring up his daughter, Matilda, on his own and she is a testimony to his excellence as a father.


Alan is diagnosed with thyroid cancer at the same time as Erin and ends up being her neighbour in the lead lined hospital rooms during their simultaneous treatment with radiation.


The author's understanding of thyroid cancer, its treatment and pitfalls are quite apparent in this book and found it all very interesting having had a few encounters with breast cancer and its treatment in my own family.


This is a compelling book . The author probes into the anxiety and psychology of each of Alan and Erin as they go through the processes of suspecting something is wrong with them, diagnosis of their conditions, treatment, and finally its aftermath.


I enjoyed the positivity the author portrayed while telling this story and the fact that the characters found happiness and love in the most unexpected place and circumstances. The author also delves into the difficulties of introducing a new relationship into two existing families and the complexities of dealing with teenage angsts, rejection and concerns in such circumstances.


On the whole, I thought this was an excellent book, well written and full of the best of humanity.

0