Shopping Cart
Your Cart is Empty
Quantity:
Subtotal
Taxes
Shipping
Total
There was an error with PayPalClick here to try again
CelebrateThank you for your business!You should be receiving an order confirmation from Paypal shortly.Exit Shopping Cart

Reviews of 'For the Sake of a Child'

Stevie Turner has done an excellent job with this book, 30 Sep 2014

5 out of 5 stars

By

pattimari "Pattimari Sheets (diamond) Cacciolfi"

This review is from: For the Sake of a Child (Kindle Edition)

For the Sake of a Child is a five star book. Stevie Turner has done an excellent job with this book. It held my attention all through it. I recommend it to all who wish to read a good book.

Pattimari Sheets Cacciolfi


-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Oct 03, 2014 Zoe Saadia rated it 5 of 5 stars


"For the Sake of a Child" is a hair-rising story, that is not afraid to deal with difficult issues and terrible dilemmas that anyone of us can be forced to face at some point in our lives.

While starting to work as a housekeeper for the directors of a large corporation, a job coveted by many,Ginny Ford stumbles into an evidence that puts to test her integrity and her moral stance. Her employers, people she learned to trust and respect, might be involved in a terrible network of pedophiles, a net...more "For the Sake of a Child" is a hair-rising story, that is not afraid to deal with difficult issues and terrible dilemmas that anyone of us can be forced to face at some point in our lives.

While starting to work as a housekeeper for the directors of a large corporation, a job coveted by many,Ginny Ford stumbles into an evidence that puts to test her integrity and her moral stance. Her employers, people she learned to trust and respect, might be involved in a terrible network of pedophiles, a network that might have been operated for years. Unable not to do so, she begins to try to help the children, but then her life quickly takes a very dangerous turn.

This is a well-written novel that kept me glued to the pages, anxious to know what will happen. Highly recommended.


-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A solid piece of writing., 4 Oct 2014

4 out of 5 stars

By

Mandus

This review is from: For the Sake of a Child (Kindle Edition)

I've received a complimentary copy in exchange for an honest review. Having said that, this is a well-written and well-plotted story. The author is skilled in that we are provided a whole pallet of emotions, on a wide and fragile spectrum, and you can really taste the rawness when flipping through the pages. With such ability, it is hard not to take immediate liking to the characters in this book, and as the story progresses, the sense of immersion only gets more and more intense. Yes, it's a heart-breaking storyline and there are some tough pages in here, but that's really what I appreciate so much about Turner's books. A solid piece of writing. I will definitely be coming back for more.


-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Loved the book!!, October 7, 2014

5 out of 5 stars

By

Lilian Roberts

This review is from: For the Sake of a Child (Kindle Edition)

Stevie Turner has written another wonderful book. I received a complementary copy of “For the Sake of a Child” for an honest review, and this will be one of the easiest to write. I loved the story of Ginny Ford who is an amazing character very likable and very believable.

She is an honest person and her integrity is put to the test at her place of employment. She is working for a large corporation and she uncovers that some shady business were going on and it involved children. Her bosses were deeply involved and she had to decide if she was going to pretend she did not know or to do something about it.

Her high morals did not let her sit on something like that. She gets involved and in turn she faces some dangerous situations. The book is filled with incredible emotions. Suspense, fear, and heart-break.

Excellent read! Excellent plot. Loved the book !!!


-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


A secret pedophile network and a would-be whistle-blower collide, 12 Oct 2014

By

Amazon Customer "lokhos"

This review is from: For the Sake of a Child (Kindle Edition)

A secret pedophile network among corporate players. A whistle blower who puts her family at risk. I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review and have long been thinking about what to say about "For the Sake of a Child." Stevie Turner is a brave writer, a crusader of a sort. One of the most difficult subjects to treat in fiction is depravity of any sort; the better the writer describes the horrors, the more likely some readers are to find descriptions tantalizing and root for the bad guys. Stevie Turner has avoided this pitfall. This book has an element of 'call to arms' and should be applauded for tackling a difficult subject in fiction. However, this book is not for everybody, containing mature content as it does, and not appropriate for readers under 18.


-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

5.0 out of 5 stars Thrill Ride, 12 Oct 2014

By

Anari (UK) - See all my reviews

This review is from: For the Sake of a Child (Kindle Edition)

Brilliant psychological thriller which will have you on the edge of your seat the whole way through. Imagine discovering a network of criminals right under your nose as you begin what should have been a reasonably ordinary job. Then imagine the dilemmas you are faced with as you wonder how to deal with this new information... A hair raising ride from start to finish. Loved it.


-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

19/1/15

From Ailsa H, http://ailsahindhaughabookworm4life.weebly.com/general-adult-fiction.html

4 out of 5 stars

This is a well written story. Stevie Turner has managed to touch upon a horrific story of child exploitation in a very sensitive way. Ginny (The main character) stumbles across this paedophile ring and struggles with what she should do with the information - The way her story develops, Ginny coming across this, her loss of her own baby and then finding a child she and her husband wish to adopt, is very believable.


This is fiction, yet Stevie has managed to make this story 'For the Sake of a Child' to seem almost real.


Personally, this is not the type of story I would read, but when I started to get to know Stevie, I was willing to give it a go. I can now say, although the story was horrific and I don't plan on reading another book about such subjects again; Stevie managed to keep me in the story - It was great to see the two worlds collide (between a disgusting 'ring' thinking they will always get away with it and Ginny - who is someone out to do good and how she struggles with the dilemma of what she should do about what she now knows - I mentally did a fist pump in the air to know that some good can come out of a situation such as this one). I am pleased I read this.


I truly think Stevie is a brave author, to both take on and write such a story which is normally seen in the non-fiction section. She has managed to write this in a way that makes you think that is could possibly happen. She was able to keep it moving, so there was no real 'lull's' in the story which for me is good.


All I can say is it is an emotional story so I would recommend having tissues. It will pull at your heart strings and unfortunately, may stay with you for a while. It truly is a dark, horrific and psychological ride which puts Ginny and her family in peril - all she needs to decide is whether or not to forget what she now knows or to do the right thing.


If you are like me and can't bear to read about such things as child neglect and abuse, I would still say to you just give it a go. I was surprised and I am sure you will be too.


My Rating

I have decided to give this book a rating of 4 out of 5. It didn't get the full marks as I personally didn't like the subject it was regarding. However it does get this high rating purely based on the way Stevie Turner has managed to write in such a sensitive way, but to also keep her readers in the story until the very last page.


Congrats to Stevie, Although it isn't a story I am fond of reading, I am pleased I read this and would most definitely would be interested in reading another book from her collection.


-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

25/2/15

5 out of 5 stars from Sue Ward


I am very excited about this read. I am so glad that the author allowed me to read this and take a chance on my honest review! I am sure its nerve wracking for authors to wonder how the readers will perceive their books at times.


THE BOOK


We have this company called PhizzFace.Inc. The two brothers got very rich with some cream that keeps you looking younger for longer. Their sister lives off of the proceeds too. They are all older people now and still running the company, this cream is VERY expensive.


Ginny Ford wins the job of housekeeper to the directors, its a post that many would like to fill. One thing puzzles her though, why her best friend gave the job up.


When she discovers this she decided to visit her best friend and ask. However, after knocking at the door, peeking through the letterbox she discovers that it looks like the apartment is empty. How can this be? How could she leave without her being told. The neighbor next door confirms that she has indeed moved out and vacated the property.


Ginny is excited about her job. Her husband supports her in looking after their child on school days as sometimes Ginny may not be able to collect her from school, but they work it out as a couple.


Ginny hasn't been there long when she discovers something that reveals a secret paedophile network, it seems to be going on for years. She recognizes some in the discovery, and she also cannot get these little boys out of her head, especially one little boy. Where are they getting these children from? This cannot go on.


Its a powerful battle with powerful people as more and more becomes revealed. Doing one thing equals a fight with conscience, doing the other puts her family in danger.


I have never seen Stevie Turners books before. When I noticed her on someone's friends list I befriended her on Goodreads, hence, I am so very glad I did.


This book is amazing, I read it in one sitting and just couldn't leave it alone until the last page.


I don't think you would be disappointed in reading this, you really should one click it.


*Thank you Stevie Turner for allowing me to read this brilliant book"

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


4.0 out of 5 starsEngaging Dialogue and Characters

ByKimwrtron September 8, 2015

Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase

Child abuse is a sensitive subject which the author handles with great care. I felt the characters were believable and riddled with human faults. The story is well-written with engaging dialogue and characters. As the story unfolds, the main characters have to make difficult choices. They made a decision they felt was their only available option at the time. Many may disagree with their choices. Fear landed them there, but fear brought them out to the point where they needed to be. The second fear wasn't for themselves or their own family but for a small, frightened child. It drove them to do what was right no matter the cost to themselves.


I look forward to reading more from this author.


-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


For the Sake of a Child

by Stevie Turner (Goodreads Author)

Ankita's review

Jun 23, 2016


It was amazing 5 stars

Read from June 23 to 24, 2016


I finished it in one day ..! Mind-boggling .. Couldn't put it down. It had me wanting to read more. Twists and turns kept my interest till the end. It beautifully picks up the issue of child abuse , keeping it real at the same time. A must read ! It left me wanting to read more work of the author.


-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


5 stars

Page turner, July 29, 2016

By

Dolly

Verified Purchase(What's this?)

This review is from: For the Sake of a Child (Kindle Edition)

I was gripped to the story. My eye's dry from reading too long.

I stayed up much too late.

That's when you know that you've found a good book...


-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

5 out of 5 stars

For the sake of a child

By josie on 10 August 2016

Format: Kindle Edition

Brilliantly written ,very inspiring couldn't put it down . Very good book, looking forward to the book that had been recommended.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


For the Sake of a Child, August 24, 2016

4 stars

By

mcs615

Verified Purchase(What's this?)

This review is from: For the Sake of a Child (Kindle Edition)

This novel, which is based on a true story, both held my attention and kept me wondering what would happen next. A very good read. I enjoyed the author's style of writing, very easy to read!


-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

4.0 out of 5 stars Great short book

ByS Johnsonon 23 April 2018

Format: Kindle Edition|


An intricate and chilling plot with all too real connotations mixed with emotion and true feeling; personal and life changing risks taken for the greater good. A hard to put down book.


https://www.amazon.co.uk/review/R1D6AG1JJ1U259/ref=cm_cr_othr_d_rdp_perm?ie=UTF8&ASIN=B00NK0MGTA


-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Robbie Cheadle 11/6/18

https://robbiesinspiration.wordpress.com/2018/06/11/bookreview-for-the-sake-of-a-child-by-stevie-turner/


4 out of 5 stars


I listened to the audio book of this haunting story about the dark and disturbing world of pedophilia. The narrator, Janine Haynes, had a lovely voice and her narration was well paced and enjoyable.

Ginny Ford is an ordinary and hard working woman. Her loyalties lie with her family comprising of her husband and young daughter. Ginny is a writer of children’s literature and supplements her income by working in the early hours of the morning as a cleaner at the offices of PhizzFace Inc.


When Ginny accepts a promotion, cleaning the offices of the directors of the company, she stumbles across information that involves her whole family in the sinister and desperate world of a ring of pedophiles. Ginny and her husband’s initial attempts to bring the information to the attention of the local authorities is thwarted by collusion and cover ups at high levels. The couple are faced with a situation where they have to chose between saving their family and taking a significant bribe or pursuing their attempts to incriminate the perpetrators. Their decision has far reaching consequences on the mental well being of them both, in particular, Ginny, who cannot get the harrowing scenes she has witnessed out of her mind. Ginny feels huge guilt and ultimately is led to making a different choice that puts her family at risk again.


I enjoyed this book and, while it did delve deeply into the dark side of pedophilia and the wickedness of those involved, it also highlighted the goodness of many people and their courage in tackling situations like this. It was vindicating to read about people who are willing to risk a lot to obtain their desired outcome.

I rated this book four out of five stars.

0