Shopping Cart
Your Cart is Empty
Quantity:
Subtotal
Taxes
Shipping
Total
There was an error with PayPalClick here to try again
CelebrateThank you for your business!You should be receiving an order confirmation from Paypal shortly.Exit Shopping Cart

Reviews for Lily: A Short Story

All the reviews below are on Amazon.co.uk or Goodreads:


Carole Mckee's review for Goodreads eBookMiner BOTM competition

Aug 22, 15

5 of 5 stars

Read in August, 2015


One of the best books I've read all year. Lily--a beautiful person who suffered many tragedies in her lifetime. The writer had the uncanny knack of putting a reader right in the middle of the story. I felt so close to the characters. The ending is one of the most beautiful and moving finishes I have ever encountered. If I had to label it, I'd say that it was soulful. I know it left quite an impact on me. Excellent!


Carole McKee, Author


-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Patricia Walker's review

Aug 23, 15


5 of 5 stars

Read in August, 2015


This short story is a fabulous gem that has been very well researched and written from a sympathetic position telling how life was for every day people in the 1800's through into the 1900's. We track life through the eyes of a family through several generations detailing the differences each character has gone through in life. Told partly from the memories of the central character and the current events towards the end of her life and we see how important family is and how relationships within the family circle really can and do make everything possible. There are happy times as well as the desperate feelings that fall in place when times are harsh and the reader laughs and cries throughout as the story unfolds.


This is a must read for anyone who likes to read about the every day lives of ordinary people in times gone by and I would heartily recommend it.


An e-copy of the book was given to me in exchange for an honest review as part of Goodreads Ebook Miner Book of the Month promotion programme


-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Wendy Anne Darling's review

Aug 23, 15


5 of 5 stars

bookshelves: to-read

Read in August, 2015


‘Lily’ is a lovely short read. I’ve read a few of this author’s books and it’s obvious that she has a lot of experience when it comes to psychology, as it relates to many people’s experience; her character’s reactions to the many positive and negative situations of life always ring true for me.


Lily, near the end of her life, finds herself in the unenviable position of being in a nursing home. Though at first this seems to her like something she really doesn’t want to live through, circumstances conspire to bring about comfort and the solutions to events in her life that have haunted her. Although I would have personally liked to go back in time and wreak some vengeance on a certain person or two, the bittersweet ending brought tears to my eyes.


-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Poignant!!, 26 Aug 2014

*****

By

Muriellewrites

This review is from: Lily: A Short Story (Kindle Edition)

Poignant and well-crafted, this short story will grab on to you and cling to you long after you've finished reading it. Glad to get a copy in exchange for an honest review.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Not to be missed, 22 Aug 2014

*****

By

Maggie

This review is from: Lily: A Short Story (Kindle Edition)

Imagine being in your 90's, in a nursing home and find out that one resident can shed light on a death of a loved on years before! This is one fantastic short story. It is beautifully written.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A BOOK FOR ALL AGES, 22 Aug 2014

*****

By

Dianne Harman

This review is from: Lily: A Short Story (Kindle Edition)

This is a wonderful read and I can't recommend it highly enough. It's a tough subject but dealt with beautifully by the author. Give it to your mother, your grandmother, or anyone who likes to read. Well done, Ms. Turner!

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it., 25 Aug 2014

By

Amazon Customer ""diebus"" - See all my reviews

(TOP 500 REVIEWER)

This review is from: Lily: A Short Story (Kindle Edition)

"Lily: A Short story" by Stevie Turner shines with its unique perspective and original story. A 92 year old protagonist and a mystery from a long time ago are an original premise and Turner delivers the goods. Loved it.


-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

5.0 out of 5 stars You'll Love Lily!, 25 Aug 2014

By

Hunter S. Jones (Atlanta, GA) - See all my reviews

This review is from: Lily: A Short Story (Kindle Edition)

Lily: A Short Story by Stevie Turner is a beautiful story. A 72 year mystery unravels which makes this a very satisfying read. You will love the character of Lily, as well as the story development and ending. I highly recommend!


-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

5.0 out of 5 stars A Heartwarming Story!, 24 Aug 2014

By

Sheryl - See all my reviews

This review is from: Lily: A Short Story (Kindle Edition)

Lily: A Short Story by Stevie Turner is a heartwarming story that will bring a tear to your eye and smile to your face.

To make this story line even better there is a great mystery which must be solved and will surprise the reader.

I enjoyed 'Lily' very much!

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended., 22 Aug 2014

By

The Wizard of Oz (Somewhere over the rainbow.) - See all my reviews

This review is from: Lily: A Short Story (Kindle Edition)

I rarely read this kind of story, and I mean rarely, but something about this one attracted me. I'm glad it did because it was a great read, one that satisfied many emotions, and, above all, it is well-written. More of a novella than a short story, which makes it even better value.


-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

5.0 out of 5 stars Unique and Emotive, 24 Aug 2014

By

Zapple "Elias" (London) - See all my reviews

This review is from: Lily: A Short Story (Kindle Edition)

A splendid, emotive story that has been written wonderfully well with a lot of heart. It's also rare to find a book with an elderly female protagonist who finds herself in an old folks home and now trying to uncover the mystery surrounding the disappearance of her sister. A unique and thoroughly gripping read.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Recommended, 19 Aug 2014

*****

By

Jonny (USA) - See all my reviews

This review is from: Lily: A Short Story (Kindle Edition)

This book was very wonderful to read. I am going to recommend it to some of my friends.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent read - highly recommended, 25 Aug 2014

By

The Diesel-Electric Elephant Company (England) - See all my reviews

This review is from: Lily: A Short Story (Kindle Edition)

Heartwarming and engaging, well-written and well-edited. It makes a nice change for a story to have a mature central character instead of the youth-worship so fashionable in these past couple of decades. The plot takes the reader from a starting point of not some little reality and out into a spot of history and mystery - an excellent read, highly recommended.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

5 out of 5 stars - A Beautiful and Heartfelt Telling, by D.G Kaye 16/3/20

https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/customer-reviews/R2O08MWX1W6XJR


A heartfelt family saga focusing on Lily - now a 93 year old resident in a nursing home, recanting her earlier life starting back in the late 1800s, growing up with her 2 sisters -one who was mysteriously taken away from home as a young teen with a 'dreaded sickness' - never to return.


Lily shares her history in thought and her memories of growing up and marrying her beloved Artie and the children they raised together. Now, in 1973, Lily has suffered a stroke and is now living in assisted living, unable to speak from the stroke, in a wheelchair, but her memory is sharp as a tack.


Lily gets a new roommate and the secrets of the past come to make sense as the mystery of what happened to her missing sister is revealed. The characters in this story are so beautifully fleshed out, and Lily stole my heart as I eagerly turned each page. A thoroughly engaging story all the way through a most satisfying ending, I read it straight through in one sitting, #Recommended reading!

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


5 stars from Patricia E Yarian on 15/6/20

https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/3393519888?book_show_action=false&from_review_page=1


Have you ever wondered,just what would happen should some catastrophic change in your life occurred? And you're the elderly parent? As I read this I thought of my step-mom after she had her major stroke! What was going thru her thoughts when we finally had to place her in hospice/long term care? Was she lucid in her thought processes? Did she know where she was? Would you?

I realize this is a fictional story, but oh buddy! Does it give you lots to ponder...even tho it made me remember the past, I did like the story! Give it a go, you'll probably find that you will too!

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

5 stars from Darlene Foster on 2/2/21

https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/3806642567?book_show_action=false&from_review_page=1


A heartwarming story that spans almost a century. There is so much emotion packed into this novella. Anyone who has watched a loved one age and deteriorate will empathize. An ageing Lily reflects on her long life after suffering a stroke. It made me think of my mom after her stroke. I am convinced the love of her family kept her going as it does Lily. A well-written story about family, family secrets and the power of love. Some nice surprises and some not so nice revelations result in a satisfying end. An enjoyable read.

0