Shopping Cart
Your Cart is Empty
Quantity:
Subtotal
Taxes
Shipping
Total
There was an error with PayPalClick here to try again
CelebrateThank you for your business!You should be receiving an order confirmation from Paypal shortly.Exit Shopping Cart

Reviews for 'No Sex Please! I'm Menopausal!'

Amazon.com

Great humour *****

By Anna Othitison 23 August 2014

Format: Kindle Edition

Recommended it to women who need a some humour and laughter in their stages of life such as these. Great fun book

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

An Entertaining Read *****

By OCMD Bookworm on September 10th 2014


Lyn’s husband dumps her after 35 years of marriage and she starts her new life by moving and joining an online dating site. Of course, her ex gets wind of it and suddenly she’s looking attractive again. It’s a familiar scenario, cleverly told in the author’s unique style, which is witty and very entertaining. I thoroughly enjoyed it!

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Witty and Relatable *****

By Pippa Franks on March 17th 2015


This is the first book I've read by this author but it won't be the last. The characters are easy to relate to and I loved the plot. The book is well written with plenty of laugh out loud moments. It follows Lyn, who has no choice but to come to terms with what's happened and make a fresh start. I thought I knew how it would end but I was wrong. Stevie kept me guessing right until the end. Highly recommended.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Reviewed by Tina Gibbons for Readers' Favorite

4 stars

Review completed on 10/23/15


Stevie Turner's No Sex Please, I'm Menopausal! opens up in Lyn and Neil's marriage. Lyn is suffering through menopause and no longer has any interest in sex. Neil is less than understanding because he wants to be satisfied, even if Lyn doesn't. He begins an affair with a younger woman, and the way Lyn uncovers the affair is both comical and sad. He tells her he wants a divorce to be with the new woman. Lyn is forced to start life over again with the fear that she will be alone without any means to attract another man, since sex is not an option. She decides to join an online match service to find companionship. It manages to surprise her in more ways than one, and it certainly spices up her life.


I was torn by the main points of No Sex Please, I'm Menopausal! It was a sad and conflicting tale. Stevie Turner did a good job describing both Lyn's and Neil's plights. I felt sympathy for Lyn because of what she was going through physically and emotionally. I also felt sorry for Neil because they were a married couple; how could he go for the rest of his life without sexual contact? Why would Lyn expect him to? There's more than one way to show sexual affection, and a long standing, loving marriage could have been saved to begin with, but it took a lot of misery for them to realize it. I rode through the ups and downs of the catastrophe and suffered the emotions of a rejected husband and discarded wife. I liked the strong, independent woman Lyn grew into. The supporting cast of characters in Lyn's new life were colourful and interesting, and they added humour to the story. It was an entertaining read.


-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


5 stars

Menopause and Marriage

ByAmazon Customer on December 28, 2016

Format: Paperback

I thoroughly enjoyed this story about Lyn, whose life is turned around after experiencing residual effects of menopause, while her husband Neil seems to be going through a mid-life crisis. Lyn discovers Neil's philandering ways by finding out about his adulterous affair he's having to satisfy his sex drive. This escapade leads to the end of their marriage.

Lyn's devastation has her moving away and starting a new life with new adventures, friends and relationships. Meanwhile, 'back at the ranch', Neil learns his newfound freedom and relationship with a younger woman isn't all it's cracked up to be and finds himself pining for his ex wife.

The story mirrors real life in many ways - pitfalls in relationships, side effects of menopause, and marriage mishaps. I found myself laughing with Lyn and drawn into her drama and decisions. And although I'm in total disagreement with some of the choices she made at the end of this book, it was her story, not mine, and that didn't change the fact that the story was engaging and well written.


-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Review by Robbie Cheadle on 23/10/19

https://robertawrites235681907.wordpress.com/2019/10/23/bookreview-no-sex-please-im-menopausal-by-stevie-turner/


I found this book to be a very amusing take on menopause and its unfortunate side effects. Lyn has been married to Neil for twenty-nine years and, despite fertility treatment, they have never been able to conceive. Lyn’s life revolves around caring for her husband, who she loves very much, and their lovely home. Lyn is going through menopause and suffering from various uncomfortable side affects including hot flushes and a loss of interest in sex, which has become painful and unappealing. Lyn has decided against using hormone replacement therapy as there is cancer in her family and she is concerned about the link between HRT and various cancers. Neil is not understanding and is most unsupportive of her problems.

Neil starts behaving a little strangely and coming home late, but Lyn is not really suspicious until she accidentally discovers a pair of someone else’s lacy pink panties in her husband’s van. When she confronts him, he confesses that he has been having an affair with a younger woman. Lyn reacts badly and destroys all his clothes before packing up her things and leaving to their holiday cottage by the sea to get away from him and decide on the way forward.

The pair decide to get divorced and Neil moves in with his new girlfriend, giving Lyn the holiday house and their house in Surrey, which she can sent out and earn a living from. Lyn has not worked for many years. Lyn starts painfully rebuilding her life in a new place and trying to find companionship.

The author explores modern platforms like internet dating sites and the threats they pose in an interesting and informed manner. She also introduces the complexities of modern society with all its different and interesting people such as lesbian women, a woman born with the mind of a man who undergoes a sex change, men who have testosterone coming out of their ears and think that all relationships are just about sex, men going through manopause and even and elderly ex-military gent who has never had the time or inclination to marry and is lonely and looking for companionship. I loved all these interesting characters and, while I didn’t necessary like all of Lyn’s decisions along the way of her rebuilding exercise, I realise that you do have to be true to yourself and that acting out of pity or due to a need for security is not necessarily going to bring any of the involved parties happiness.

The characterization of Neil is intriguing as initially, he is the guy you love to hate with his selfish behaviour and lack of understanding about his wife’s circumstances. As the story progresses, the reader realises that there is more to Neil than meets the eye and wonders if he can redeem himself.

A thoroughly enjoyable book that will entertain male and female readers of all ages.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

4.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable read.

Reviewed in the United States on June 19, 2020

An entertaining story that had me engaged with all the characters from the start. I can imagine the menopausal circumstances that were the catalyst to the break-up of Lyn and Neil's marriage to be true to life for a lot of people. More stories like this need to be written.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


5.0 out of 5 stars Funny and a good story

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 29 July 2020

Verified Purchase

Lyn and Neil's bickering about bedroom activities is hilarious. But sometimes, comedy comes with tragedy especially when Lyn finds something devastating in Neil's van. I enjoyed Lyn's journey as she moved to Cornwall and started working in a cafe. Her new friends are a hoot! But there is unfinished business- Lyn and Neil had always wanted a baby and I got a bit of a shock that the storyline went the way it did. Still, those early pages of hilarity and thirty-five years of marriage must have counted for something.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

4.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable read

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 26 October 2020 by Ritu

Verified Purchase

Hitting that era of life where menopause may become more of a reality than one of those things that might happen in the distant future, I began to read this book with a little more curiosity than usual.

Lyn is in the throes of the beginning of menopause. She's all hot flushes and had a No Entry sign firmly placed 'down there', much to the frustration of her husband, Neil.

Things come to a head when she discovers he's found ways to lubricate himself, without her assistance.

Armed with the keys to what was their holiday home, Lyn ups sticks and moves to Cornwall, to start up her new life.

She signs up to a matchmaking site, with 'companionship only - NO SEX' firmly ticked on her profile and proceeds to meet some characters, some of which become longstanding friends, and some, she'd rather not see again.

An easy to read book, and I really liked some of the characters, especially gentleman Peter and transexual, Jamie!

But, though the ending was very 'happily ever after', part of me wanted her to make a different choice.

Still, an enjoyable read.

0